Entry Lists

The BNP Paribas Open, the largest ATP World Tour and WTA combined two-week event in the world, to be held March 3-16, 2014 at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden, has released its entry lists, which are highlighted by 11 former BNP Paribas Open Champions and 15 Grand Slam Champions, it was announced today by Steve Simon, tournament director.

In addition, the Indian Wells Tennis Garden and the BNP Paribas Open will unveil its new Stadium 2 and site expansion with the McEnroe Challenge for Charity presented by Esurance on Saturday, March 1. This one-day special event benefiting local charities will feature free admission and multiple Grand Slam Champions John McEnroe, Jim Courier, Peter Fleming and Rick Leach. McEnroe will play Courier in a best of three sets singles match (Super Tie-Break played for the third set), followed by McEnroe and Fleming playing Courier and Leach in a nine game doubles pro-set. Each player and doubles team will represent a designated local charity, and 100 percent of the prize money earned – $40,000 for singles ($25,000 for the winner, $15,000 for the loser) and $40,000 for doubles ($25,000 for the winning team, $15,000 for the losing team) – will be donated to the charity the player or team represents.

The announcement of the 2014 BNP Paribas Open entry lists kicks off a six week countdown to the beginning of the tournament when more than 300 of the world’s best players will descend on Indian Wells and compete for more than $ 10 million in prize money, and the right to hoist the prestigious trophies. In addition, the Hawkeye line-calling technology, which is on all main draw match courts at the tournament, will be added for the qualifying rounds.

On the men’s side, the entry list includes World No. 1, 13-time Grand Slam Champion and defending BNP Paribas Open Champion Rafael Nadal (2007, 2009, 2013), six-time Grand Slam Champion and World No. 2 Novak Djokovic (2008, 2011), World No. 4 and defending Wimbledon Champion Andy Murray, and four-time BNP Paribas Open Champion, 17-time Grand Slam Champion and World No. 6 Roger Federer (2004-2006, 2012). In addition, all the remaining top 10 ranked players are entered, along with two-time Grand Slam and BNP Paribas Open Champion Lleyton Hewitt (2003, 2004).

On the women’s side, the entry list includes World No. 1, 17-time Grand Slam Champion, and two-time BNP Paribas Open Champion Serena Williams (1999, 2001), two-time Grand Slam Champion and World No. 2 Victoria Azarenka (2012), and defending BNP Paribas Open Champion, four-time Grand Slam Champion, and World No. 3 Maria Sharapova (2006, 2013). Other former BNP Paribas Open champions on the list include World No. 8 Jelena Jankovic (2010), World No. 10 Caroline Wozniacki (2011), Ana Ivanovic (2008) and Daniela Hantuchova (2002, 2007). In addition, all the remaining top 10 ranked players are entered as well.

“We are very excited to showcase our new site expansion, including the new Stadium 2, to our fans, sponsors, players and media with the McEnroe Challenge for Charity presented by Esurance,” said Simon. “While it is too soon to know whether she will play or not, we are pleased to see Serena’s name on the entry list. Based on her comments at the Australian Open we know playing in the tournament is something she is thinking about.”

The remaining spots in the draws will be filled with winners of the Qualifying tournament (March 3-5) and Wildcards, which will be announced in the coming weeks.